



Organizational Meeting of The Board of Trustees of The Sturgeon Public School Division Sturgeon The Sturgeon Fubilic Schools Held at Morinville on August 26, 2020

Table of Contents

Election of Chair	Resolution # S-05
Election of Vice-Chair	S-06
Date, Time, Place of Regular Meetings	S-07
Trustee Membership of Committees/Trustee Committees/Board Representatives	S-08



Organizational Meeting of The Board of Trustees of The Sturgeon Public School Division Public Schools Held at Morinville on August 26, 2020

ROLL CALL

Present were Trustees: Mr. Joe Dwyer; Mrs. Misty Featherley; Mr. Terry Jewell; Mrs. Liz Kohle; Mrs. Trish Murray-Elliott; Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay; Mrs. Janine Pequin; Ms. Mary Lynne R. Campbell (Superintendent/CEO); Dr. Brooks (Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services)

CALL TO ORDER

This being the Organizational Meeting, the Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

TREATY 6 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

The Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services read the Treaty 6 Acknowledgement Statement.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees. Mrs. Liz Kohle nominated Mr. Terry Jewell.

The Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees a second time.

The Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees a third time.

S-05/2020 - Moved by Mrs. Oatway-McLay that nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees cease.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Mr. Jewell was declared elected Chair for the Board of Trustees.

Mr. Jewell assumed the chair.

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees. Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay nominated Mrs. Janine Pequin.

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees a second time.

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees a third time.

S-06/2020 - Moved by Mrs. Featherley that nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees cease.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Mrs. Janine Pequin was declared elected Vice Chair for the Board of Trustees.

DATE, TIME, PLACE OF REGULAR MEETINGS

S-07/2020 - Moved by Mr. Jewell that the regular Public Board meeting be held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the Frank Robinson Education Centre in Morinville and the Committee of the Whole meeting be held on the second Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the Frank Robinson Education Centre in Morinville.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

TRUSTEE MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

<u>S-08/2020 – Moved by Mr. Jewell</u> that the following Membership of Committees, Trustee Committees and Board Representatives to Other Organizations be accepted for the 2020-2021 school year:

Committee of the Whole

All Trustees with a quorum of four

Municipal Liaison Committee

All Trustees with a quorum of three, consisting of the Chair and two Trustees

ATA Negotiations Committee

Mr. Jewell, Mrs. Kohle, Mrs. Oatway-McLay

CUPE Negotiations Committee

Mr. Dwyer, Mr. Jewell, Mrs. Murray-Elliott

Teacher Board Advisory Committee (ATA)

Mr. Jewell, Mrs. Kohle, Mrs. Oatway-McLay

Labour Management Committee (CUPE)

Mr. Dwyer, Mr. Jewell, Mrs. Murray-Elliott

TRUSTEE COMMITTEES

Advocacy Committee

Mrs. Featherley, Mrs. Oatway-McLay, Mrs. Pequin

Building and Maintenance Committee

Mr. Dwyer, Mrs. Kohle, Mrs. Murray-Elliott

Education Committee

Mrs. Featherley, Mrs. Murray-Elliott, Mrs. Pequin

Finance & People Services Committee

Mr. Jewell, Mrs. Murray-Elliott, Mrs. Oatway-McLay

Transportation Committee

Mr. Featherley, Mrs. Kohle, Mrs. Pequin

BOARD REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER ORGANIZATIONS

Alberta School Boards Association - Zone 2/3

Mr. Jewell; Alternate - Mrs. Pequin

Morinville Rotary

Rotation of: Mr. Dwyer, Mrs. Featherley, Mrs. Kohle

Public School Boards Association of Alberta

Mrs. Oatway-McLay; Alternate - Mrs. Murray-Elliott

SCHS - School Council

Mr. Dwyer, Mrs. Murray-Elliott (alternating)

Student Discipline Committee

Trustees will rotate attendance (a quorum of two)

Community Services Advisory

Mrs. Kohle

CLOSE OF THE MEETING The meeting adjourned at 4:13 p.m. Chair

Associate Superintendent,

Corporate Services

Date