

Organizational Meeting of The Board of Trustees of **The Sturgeon Public School Division** Sturgeon The Sturgeon Public School Errore Public Schools Held at Morinville on October 27, 2021

Table of Contents

Resolution #

Election of Chair	S-13
Election of Vice-Chair	S-15
Date, Time, Place of Regular Meetings	S-17
Trustee Membership of Committees/Trustee Committees/Board Representatives	S-18





Organizational Meeting of The Board of Trustees of **The Sturgeon Public School Division** Public Schools Held at Morinville on October 27, 2021

CALL TO ORDER

This being the Organizational Meeting, the Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services called the meeting to order at 3:45 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Present were Trustees: Mrs. Cindy Briggs, Ms. Irene Gibbons, Mrs. Janine Pequin, Mr. Joe Dwyer, Mrs. Stacey Buga, Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay, Ms. Trish Murray-Elliott; Ms. Mary Lynne R. Campbell (Superintendent/CEO); Ms. Liliana LeVesconte (Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services), Mrs. Lacroix (Associate Superintendent, People Services)

Present online: Ms. Shawna Walter (Associate Superintendent, Education Services); Mr. Jonathan Konrad (Director, Curriculum & Instruction)

TREATY 6 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

The Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services read the Treaty 6 Acknowledgement Statement.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees. Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay nominated Mrs. Janine Pequin.

The Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees a second time. Ms. Trish Murray-Elliott nominated Mr. Joe Dwyer

The Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees a third time.

S-13/2021 - Moved by Mrs. Oatway-McLay that Mr. Joe Dwyer be declared elected Chair for the Board of Trustees.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Mr. Joe Dwyer assumed the chair.

S-14/2021 - Moved by Mrs. Oatway-McLay that the ballots for the Chair be destroyed.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees. Mrs. Janine Pequin nominated Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay.

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees a second time. Ms. Trish Murray-Elliott nominated Ms. Irene Gibbons.

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees a third time.

S-15/2021 - Moved by Ms. Trish Murray-Elliott that Ms. Irene Gibbons be declared elected Vice Chair for the Board of Trustees.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

S-16/2021 - Moved by Mrs. Oatway-McLay that the ballots for the Vice Chair be destroyed.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

DATE, TIME, PLACE OF REGULAR MEETINGS

<u>S-17/2021 – Moved by Mr. Joe Dwyer</u> that the regular Public Board meeting be held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the Frank Robinson Education Centre in Morinville and the Committee of the Whole meeting be held on the second Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the Frank Robinson Education Centre in Morinville.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

TRUSTEE MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

<u>S-18/2021 – Moved by Ms. Trish Murray-Elliott</u> that the following Membership of Committees, Trustee Committees and Board Representatives to Other Organizations be accepted for the 2021-2022 school year:

Committee of the Whole

All Trustees with a quorum of four

Municipal Liaison Committee

All Trustees with a quorum of three, consisting of the Chair and two Trustees

ATA Negotiations Committee

Mrs. Buga, Ms. Gibbons, Mrs. Oatway-McLay

CUPE Negotiations Committee

Mrs. Briggs, Mr. Dwyer, Ms. Murray-Elliott

Teacher Board Advisory Committee (ATA) Mrs. Buga, Ms. Gibbons, Mrs. Oatway-McLay

Labour Management Committee (CUPE) Mrs. Briggs, Mr. Dwyer, Ms. Murray-Elliott

TRUSTEE COMMITTEES

Advocacy Committee

Mrs. Buga, Mrs. Oatway-McLay, Mrs. Pequin

Building and Maintenance Committee

Mrs. Briggs, Mr. Dwyer, Ms. Murray-Elliott

Education Committee

Mrs. Buga, Ms. Gibbons, Ms. Murray-Elliott

Finance & People Services Committee Ms. Gibbons, Mrs. Pequin, Mrs. Oatway-McLay

Transportation Committee

Mrs. Briggs, Mr. Dwyer, Ms. Gibbons

BOARD REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER ORGANIZATIONS

Alberta School Boards Association – Zone 2/3 Mrs. Pequin; Alternate – Mrs. Buga

Morinville Rotary

Rotation of: Mr. Dwyer

Public School Boards Association of Alberta Ms. Murray-Elliott; Alternate – Mrs. Oatway-McLay

<u>SCHS – School Council</u> Mr. Dwyer, Ms. Murray-Elliott (alternating)

SPVA- School Council

Mrs. Buga

Student Discipline Committee

Trustees will rotate attendance (a quorum of two)

Community Services Advisory

Mrs. Briggs

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

CLOSE OF THE MEETING

The meeting adjourned at 4:07 p.m.

Chair

Date

Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services