

Organizational Meeting of The Board of Trustees of **The Sturgeon Public School Division** Sturgeon The Sturgeon Fublic School 2000 Public Schools Held at Morinville on May 8, 2023

Table of Contents

Resolution

Resignation of Chair	S-01
Election of Chair	S-02
Cease Nominations for Vice Chair	S-03
Election of Vice Chair	S-04
Destruction of Ballots	S-05



Organizational Meeting of The Board of Trustees of **The Sturgeon Public School Division** Public Schools Held at Morinville on May 8, 2023

CALL TO ORDER

This being the Organizational Meeting, the Acting Secretary Treasurer called the meeting to order at 3:09 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Present were Trustees: Mrs. Cindy Briggs, Ms. Irene Gibbons, Mrs. Janine Pequin, Mr. Joe Dwyer, Mrs. Stacey Buga, Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay, Ms. Trish Murray-Elliott; Mrs. Shawna Warren (Superintendent); Mrs. Lisa Lacroix (Associate Superintendent, Human Resources); Mrs. Liliana LeVesconte (Secretary Treasurer); and Mrs. Michelle Wilde (Executive Assistant)

TREATY 6 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

The Secretary Treasurer read the Treaty 6 Acknowledgement Statement.

RESIGNATION OF CHAIR

S-01/2023 - Moved by Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay that the Board of Trustees accept the resignation of Mr. Joe Dwyer from the position of Board Chair.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Secretary Treasurer called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees. Mrs. Stacey Buga nominated Ms. Irene Gibbons.

The Secretary Treasurer called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees a second time.

The Secretary Treasurer called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees a third time.

S-02/2023 - Moved by Mrs. Oatway-McLay that nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees cease, and that Ms. Irene Gibbons be declared elected Chair.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Ms. Irene Gibbons assumed the chair.

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees. Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay nominated Mrs. Janine Pequin.

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees a second time. Ms. Irene Gibbons nominated Mrs. Trish Murray-Elliott

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees a third time.

S-03/2023 - Moved by Mrs. Stacey Buga that the nominations for the office of the Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees cease.

By special ballot, Mrs. Janine Pequin was declared elected Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees.

<u>S-04/2023 – Moved by Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay</u> that Mrs. Janine Pequin be declared Vice Chair.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

<u>S-05/2023 – Moved by Mrs. Janine Pequin</u> that the ballots for the Vice Chair be destroyed.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

CLOSE OF THE MEETING

The meeting adjourned at 3:19 p.m.

Chair

Date

Associate Superintendent, Corporate Services