

Organizational Meeting of The Board of Trustees of The Sturgeon Public School Division Sturgeon The Sturgeon Fublic School 21100 Public Schools Held at Morinville on August 23, 2023

Table of Contents

Reso	lution	#
NC30	lucion	π

Election of Chair	S-07
Election of Vice-Chair	S-08/S-09
Date, Time, Place of Regular Meetings	S-11
Trustee Membership of Committees/Board Representatives	S-12/S-13/S-14



Organizational Meeting of The Board of Trustees of **The Sturgeon Public School Division** Public Schools Held at Morinville on August 23, 2023

ROLL CALL

Present were Trustees: Mrs. Cindy Briggs, Ms. Irene Gibbons, Mrs. Janine Pequin, Mr. Joe Dwyer, Mrs. Stacey Buga, Mrs. Tasha Oatway-McLay, Ms. Trish Murray-Elliott; Mrs. Shawna Warren (Superintendent); Mr. Jonathan Konrad (Deputy Superintendent, Education Services); Mrs. Lisa Lacroix (Associate Superintendent, Human Resources); Mrs. Ruth Kuik (Acting Secretary Treasurer); and Mrs. Michelle Wilde (Executive Secretary).

CALL TO ORDER

This being the Organizational Meeting, the Acting Secretary Treasurer called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m.

TREATY 6 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

The Acting Secretary Treasurer read the Treaty 6 Acknowledgement Statement.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Acting Secretary Treasurer called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Janine Pequin nominated Trustee Irene Gibbons.

The Acting Secretary Treasurer called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees a second time.

The Acting Secretary Treasurer called for nominations for the office of the Chair of the Board of Trustees a third time.

S-07/2023 - Moved by Trustee Oatway-McLay that nominations for the Chair of the Board of the Trustees cease.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Trustee Irene Gibbons assumed the chair.

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees. Trustee Irene Gibbons nominated Trustee Stacey Buga. Trustee Stacey Buga declined the nomination.

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees a second time. Trustee Trish Murray-Elliott nominated Trustee Cindy Briggs.

The Chair called for nominations for the office of Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees a third time. Trustee Stacey Buga nominated Trustee Janine Pequin.

S-08/2023 - Moved by Trustee Janine Pequin that nominations for Vice Chair for the Board of Trustees cease.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

S-09/2023 - Moved by Trustee Tasha Oatway-McLay that Trustee Cindy Briggs be declared elected Vice Chair for the Board of Trustees.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

<u>S-10/2023 – Moved by Trustee Janine Pequin</u> that the ballots for the Vice Chair be destroyed.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

DATE, TIME, PLACE OF REGULAR MEETINGS

<u>S-11/2023 – Moved by Trustee Oatway-McLay</u> that the Board of Trustees approve the Schedule of Public Board Meetings – 2023-2024 as attached to the Organizational Meeting package; and

Further, that the Public Board Meetings be held at the Frank Robinson Education Centre in Morinville at 9:00 a.m.

CARRIED 6/1 Opposed: Trustee Tasha Oatway-McLay

TRUSTEE MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

<u>S-12/2023 – Moved by Trustee Irene Gibbons</u> that Trustees Buga, Gibbons and Oatway-McLay be appointed to the ATA Negotiations Committee.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

<u>S-13/2023 – Moved by Trustee Irene Gibbons</u> that Trustees Briggs, Dwyer and Murray-Elliott be appointed to the CUPE Negotiations Committee.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

<u>S-14/2023 – Moved by Trustee Irene Gibbons</u> that the following Membership of Committees, Trustee Committees and Board Representatives to Other Organizations be accepted for the 2022-2023 school year:

Committee of the Whole

All Trustees with a quorum of four

Municipal Liaison Committee

All Trustees with a quorum of three, consisting of the Chair and two Trustees

ATA Negotiations Committee

Trustee Buga, Trustee Gibbons, Trustee Oatway-McLay

CUPE Negotiations Committee

Trustee Briggs, Trustee Dwyer, Trustee Murray-Elliott

Teacher Board Advisory Committee (TBAC)

Trustee Murray-Elliott, Trustee Pequin, Trustee Oatway-McLay

Labour Management Committee (CUPE)

Trustee Briggs, Trustee Dwyer, Trustee Murray-Elliott

BOARD REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER ORGANIZATIONS

Alberta School Boards Association – Zone 2/3

Trustee Pequin; Alternate – Trustee Oatway-McLay

Public School Boards Association of Alberta

Trustee Murray-Elliott; Alternate – Trustee Buga

TEBA Representative

Trustee Pequin

Morinville Sturgeon Rotary

Trustee Dwyer

<u> SCHS – School Council</u>

Trustee Murray-Elliott, Trustee Dwyer (alternating)

<u>SPVA– School Council</u> Trustee Buga

Student Discipline Committee

Trustees will rotate attendance (a quorum of two)

Community Services Advisory

Trustee Briggs

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

CLOSE OF THE MEETING

The meeting was adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

Chair

Date

Acting Secretary Treasurer