

| Date: | February 28, 2024 | Agenda Item: 7.4 |
|---|---|------------------|
| То: | Board of Trustees | |
| From: | Shawna Warren, Superintendent | |
| Originator(s): | Jonathan Konrad, Deputy Superintendent, Education Services | |
| Governance Policy: | Policy 225: Role of the Board Policy 700 - Superintendent of Schools | |
| Additional Reference: | Alberta School Board Association Guidelines | |
| Assurance Domain: | Governance | |
| Superintendent Leadership Quality Standard (SLQS) SLQS Competencies (<u>SLQS</u> / <u>Board Policy 700</u>): Building Effective Relationships Modeling Commitment to Professional Learning Visionary Leadership Leading Learning | | |
| Subject: | Edwin Parr Teacher Nomir | nation |
| Purpose: | | |

Purpose:

For approval. Motion required.

Recommended Motion:

THAT the Board of Trustees

1. Nominate Jacqueline Fraser as the Board's nominee for the Edwin Parr Awards for 2013-2024, recognizing her exceptional teaching within her first year.

OR

2. Nominate Chris Jansen as the Board's nominee for the Edwin Parr Award for 2023-2024, recognizing his exceptional teaching within his first year.

Background:

Alberta School Boards Association's (ASBA) Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes excellent first-year teachers across the province.

History

Edwin Parr homesteaded in the Meanook area near Athabasca in 1920. Prior to 1925 he began his long career in educational affairs as a member of the board with the George Lake



School District. He served as Chair of the Board with the Athabasca School Division and was on the Council of the County of Athabasca from its formation in 1959 until his death in January 1963. Edwin Parr was President of the Alberta School Trustees' Association from 1956 to 1962. Ed Parr, as he was known to all, instituted an "Annual Teacher Award" in his school system. Each year, a member of the teaching staff was chosen to receive a gold watch and an appropriate certificate for long and meritorious service.

In searching for a way in which his memory might be perpetuated and to honour the profession he so dearly respected, the Alberta School Trustees' Association established the *Edwin Parr Teacher Award* in 1964.

Criteria:

- Any first year Kindergarten Grade 12 teacher is eligible for nomination
- A minimum of 100 full-time equivalent days of teaching within the current school year is required (ie. September 2023 to June 20, 2024)
- May have up to 120 days of teaching service prior to signing a full-time contract.

The Board's nomination for the Edwin Parr Teacher Award is required to be submitted by March 18, 2024.

Administration is prepared to respond to questions at the February 28, 2024, Public Board meeting.

Attachment(s):

- 1. Edwin Parr Nomination Package for Jacqueline Fraser
- 2. Edwin Parr Nomination Package for Chris Jansen