## STURGEON PUBLIC SCHOOLS

# TRUSTEE TALK

Updates from the Board of Trustees for our Sturgeon Public School Community February 2024



## Welcoming Inclusive, Safe and **Healthy Environments**

The Board believes in the importance of, and is committed to, establishing, and maintaining a welcoming, inclusive, equitable, safe and healthy environment that respects diversity and fosters a sense of belonging. The Board is committed to providing environments that support the positive mental health of students and staff. The Board believes it is the collective responsibility of all those involved with the Division to create and maintain positive cultures in our schools and workplaces. (Policy 110)



On February 28th, our Central Office staff and Board of Trustees wore their pink shirts to demonstrate our ongoing commitment to creating safe and inclusive school environments for all students. As a Division, we stand against bullying and choose to spread kindness, empathy and understanding. Together, we can create a school community where everyone feels safe, valued and respected.



## Registration is Open for 2024-2025

Registration for the 2024-2025 school year is now open for both new and current Sturgeon Public Schools students!

Click <u>here</u> to visit our website and start the registration process.

### **Edwin Parr Award Nominee**

We are thrilled to announce that Chris Jansen has been chosen as the Sturgeon Public School Division's nominee for the prestigious 2023-2024 Edwin Parr Award. This honour is extended by the Board of Trustees to recognize Chris's exceptional dedication and passion for education in his first year of teaching. Chris's commitment to engaging students and fostering a connection to their learning has distinguished him as an outstanding educator within our community.

His nomination has been forwarded to the Alberta School Board's Association (ASBA) Zone 2/3 for further consideration at the provincial level. The Edwin Parr Award, established in memory of Edwin Parr's significant contributions to education, celebrates the excellence of first-year teachers across Alberta.

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to Chris Jansen on this remarkable achievement and wish him the best of luck in the next stage of the selection process. Your dedication to the educational development of our students truly embodies the spirit of the Edwin Parr Award.

