Sturgeon Public Schools was officially formed on January 1, 1939. It consisted mostly of one and two room schoolhouses serving local communities. 

Today, the division has 17 schools with over 5,000 students. Much has changed, but our commitment to providing outstanding education with a strong community focus remains steadfast.

We are proud of our rich rural heritage. In fact, some of our schools have histories dating back as far as the 1880s!

We enjoy a close relationship with parents and the community, and our students benefit from the supportive environment. Working as one team, we create a warm and positive culture in our schools where students feel safe and a true sense of belonging.

Innovative programs keep our schools on the leading edge of education in Alberta. Students have their choice of options, from core subjects to advanced placement to vocational training and more. In addition, we offer innovative preschool programs, Reggio inspired instruction, Hockey AcademyFrench ImmersionLOGOS and many more unique programs.

As the division continues to evolve and innovate, its vision for the future holds true to its past: to provide a well-rounded education that prepares students to pursue their unique path to future success.